Tag Archives: Privacy

Better privacy management and UI updates

We’ve made some exciting updates to Producteev in the last few weeks! Here’s what we just deployed:

Better privacy management:
From a private project, you can now assign a task to anyone in your network without adding that person as a member of that project. This is especially useful for delegating to and managing tasks from 3rd party vendors. The auto completion API has been updated with these new privacy rules so all our apps including the new Producteev for Outlook apps should reflect this change.

UI improvements:
Ability to see who access to your tasks.

Private task :

Public task :

Your user profile will automatically appear first in people search:
This will make it much easier for you to immediately jump to your profile and tasks.

Your project(s) will now appear at the top of search:
In an effort to continue making it easier for you to get to your most important tasks and resources, the projects you own will now appear at the top of search.

Jive Integration updates:
We’ve fixed some bugs and created a default (private) project for every single user of your Jive instance network. So now when you go to your Home -> Action -> Tasks, you will not have to worry about where your task is going to end up.

Producteev @ JiveWorld13:
Ilan Abehassera, Senior Director of Product Management, will be speaking at JiveWorld13 Thursday, October 24th! If you are attending, be sure to stop by his session to get the latest on Producteev and learn how to Get Things Done with Jive.

Tagged ,

How to Deal with Privacy in Producteev


The idea driving innovation at Producteev is that we break all the barriers between your tasks and your team. However, we understand that there is the need for secrecy. That’s why we offer a couple of options that could even help 007 to save the world, in a total privacy.


To lock or unlock your workspace? It’s all about your collaboration philosophy

The first privacy setting we provide in Producteev is the ability to lock or unlock your workspaces. An unlocked workspace is the most open collaboration mode you can imagine: every user on your workspace can see, create and edit any task (except the hidden ones as we’ll see later). A perfect mode for small and highly collaborative teams. If your team is a little bigger and every user has a well-defined role you may find the locked mode useful. The locked mode only allows three people to edit a task: the creator of the task, the assignee, and the workspace administrator.

To access this setting you can use the network drop down menu on the top of your main screen (as shown on the screenshot below).



Only the chosen ones can know about the existence of a private task

When you work on a highly sensitive project, you want to have control over who can see the tasks. This is exactly why we designed the private tasks. Every time you open the details panel of a task, you can set the privacy settings by clicking on the lock followed by the words “All workspace member.” One click on this button and you can select who has the right to see the task, and who will never be aware of its existence. This is an easy way to keep your plan to take the control of the world totally secret.


Stay productive!

Tagged , ,

How does “privacy” work on Producteev once I am collaborating with others?

We get that question pretty often, so let us try to clear that out.

Here are a couple of things you should know:

LOCKED MODE (Default mode):

1. When you collaborate with other users on a specific workspace, by default, everyone will be able to see all tasks posted by the members of this team (members who got invited and joined the workspace). Note that except the creator, the assignee and the administrator of your workspace, no one else can EDIT them. They can only view them, and post comments on them. They can’t change a deadline, edit labels or change the person in charge for example.




2. If you want more open collaboration, and let everyone from your team interact with all of your workspaces’ tasks, we recently launched a new setting for that, it’s called an “unlocked” workspace. Once that feature activated, anyone from your team can : complete a task, edit labels, set deadlines and reminders, change the assignee, etc. Anyone can do anything! Your workspace is not public, just editable by all the members of that workspace.




On Producteev, you can also select who’s seeing each and every one of your tasks if you want to. Click on the ‘privacy’ feature in your task detail panel. If you want to hide that “get my boss a birthday present” task in your team’s workspace, you can do it :)


Those settings are only available from the web app for now, but obviously reflect on all of the other apps once approved.

Hope that helps!

UPDATED ON MAY 7, 2012: Thanks to @stoweboyd for helping find the right terminology for “Locked’ and “Unlocked”!

Tagged , ,